De Longpre Park

M

I just found this article about the history of the park right next to our house, and the explanation of the Rudolph Valentino statues.

aspiration

I guess Ricky Nelson also wrote Traveling Man on one of the park benches after a break up at Hollywood High.  That song reminds me of my dad so much!  How many times did I hear that growing up, I still know all of the words.

Its sad to see what has become of our neighborhood.  There is so much history here.  I guess it is getting better…

This is funny, there is a warning at the bottom of the article:

Warning: De Longpre Park is located in a rather shabby part of town, surrounded by a metal fence and locked up at night. Please take reasonable precautions when visiting.

YIKES!

One thought on “De Longpre Park

Leave a Reply

